top of page

When Not to Get a Service Dog.

With getting a Service Dog, I have realized that there are a lot of amazing things that come along with getting a really amazing service dog. But there are a few things that can be overwhelming to some people that can affect if they can get a service dog. I will list them below.

1) Service Dogs are Meant for Working.

This means a service dog isn't meant for you to help present your image and is meant to help you with your disability. If you just want to get a service dog to make people like you cause you have a dog with you all the time, You shouldn't get one. A guy actually came up to me when I was with Co-Jack and said to me, "I would love to have a service dog just so I can bring him to the dinner with me". I looked at him for a minute and just ignored him. sometimes people don't understand bringing a service dog is a lot of work. It's not all just unicorns and ponies, it's serious business.

2) Service Dogs need Constant Maintenance and Care

Service dogs exactly like any dog need constant nutrients, exercise, pee/poop breaks and most importantly for commands is mental stimulation. But this is even more important for a service dog to keep him in check for going out in public. You have to plan your day accordingly before you go out in public. For example: before i go anywhere I always make sure if Co-Jack has to go to the bathroom so I don't have to take him out when I have class. If I don't Co-Jack could feel "off" and not be 100% focused on his job which is making sure I'm ok.

3) Training! Training! Training!

Service Dogs need to keep up to speed on there commands so when it's time to use them they can do it right away. Service Dogs are just like any dog, After a certain amount of time without training the dog their commands they will forget. So if your a procrastinator and don't keep up with their training, getting a service dog isn't right for you.

4) You Need to be Assertive

With a Service Dog you have to show them your there master, and by being assertive they will listen to your commands. You also have to be assertive with people by telling them not to pet your service dog. You might also have to be assertive if people tell you that "No dogs allowed" and you might have to state the law that your dog is a service dog and it's against the law not to allow a service dog into a public place. This assertiveness that I have gotten from having a service dog has helped me speak up and helped me break out of my shell by not being so shy. But if you don't think you can become assertive to a dog and just will let them do what ever they want to, then a service dog isn't the right choice for you.

5) You can't just Drop everything and Leave.

Lastly with a service dog. There is no Droping and Running when ever you need too. Like I said before you have to plan ahead of schedule. For me I have a big basket with everything "Co-Jack" Related. His toys, collars, Dog sweaters, leashes, vests, toys, etc. So when I have to go to school I just find what I need and put it on him and off I go. But getting ready a head of schedule can be hard for some people. So if you can't plan even more ahead then you did before, then a service dog isn't for you.

Now even with all these things you are probably thinking this is way to much work. But why do you think the dogs are so well behaved and can do amazing things that no other dog can do? Because of all the work that's put into them. And these dogs from experience, are just the best dogs ever. If you want one you just have to be ready to take care of it like no other dog you have had before. If you can do it, then that dog will take care of you for the rest of your life.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page